Aggressive But Not Too Aggressive: Confessions of a Lawyer and Churchman

I’m to aggressive for those who want to engage in subtle negotiations to get what they want, but too nice for the crazies.

That’s where I am in my law practice and my church life.

Hard for my readers to believe, but I am just a bit opinionated and bull headed. My mouth has gotten me in more trouble than I could have imagined in the past. Over the years, I’ve learned to say less, say it less authoritatively, and just wack someone in the butt only when it really counted and where we could achieve this ever elusive “victory” that so many people want but can’t define realistically.

Yet, for certain folks, I’m no where near aggressive enough. I should have left TEC already while really getting in every liberals face when I did it, I should have gone after a poor consumer debtor at a creditors’ meeting when the only witness would be a bureaucrat and I would have only made myself look like an (well, you know) and done nothing to benefit the client, or argued with a witness I was deposing about being evasive to my questions when I just got him to hang himself by admitting six of the twenty allegations in his petition were absolute falsehoods despite his affidavit attached to the petition to contrary.

All I know is that I’ve got to do things the best way I know how while still maintaining my Christianity, which includes treating others as a Christian would treat them. Yet, I lack the judgment of our Lord, who knew when to have mercy on a prostitute and when to chase the money changers out of the temple.

Aggressive but not too aggressive? Aggressive at the right time and the right way?

The one thing I do know about myself. I can’t be aggressive for a cause I do not believe in, personally. I should be able to turn aggressiveness on and off like a switch, but I just can’t do it. What would be even better would be to know the exact right time to throw the aggressiveness switch and when not to. For me, that knowledge of when to throw the switch or not comes from fear and feeling, rather than rationality.

Making partner at the firm, while an extremely important milestone, means nothing compared to what I must master to be the best person I can be, harnessing my skills, my mind, and my heart toward the right direction. More importantly, is learning to find that right direction. I pray the Lord will teach me.

5 Responses to “Aggressive But Not Too Aggressive: Confessions of a Lawyer and Churchman”


  1. 1 KAIROS sister January 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Brad–God Bless you!!! I think that we learn the most about ourselves,our beliefs and faith thru the questioning,searching.I don’t think God wants us too get too comfortable within our understanding of Him because we tend to think we’ve “got it” and know it all. HA!HA! He wants to keep us on our toes,so to speak.The more we live out our faith, He reveals more of Himself to us. The more that is revealed, the more searching/learning we need to do. What blessings we can receive/miss by how we answer Him! This is the lessons we must deal with. Living without this certainity/uncertainity at the same time would be more peaceful,but the journey would be a lot more boring!! May we all seek His will in our lives as you do every day. You have the gift of words to reach us and make us think/rethink our own journey–may God continue to use you and bless you and your family!! :):) KAIROS sister

  2. 2 George Gray+ January 17, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Brad, it sounds like you are a frog in the pot. You better git to jumpin out b4 its too late.

  3. 3 Truth Unites... and Divides January 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    “I should have left TEC already while really getting in every liberals face when I did it”

    You can still do what God is impressing upon you to do.

    His Word is clear and the Spirit is confirming it through your conscience.

  4. 4 Milton January 18, 2009 at 5:07 am

    But TUAD and George, Jeremiah did not leave Jerusalem even while telling the king and the people that they should go out and surrender to and serve Nebuchadnezzar and the Babylonians at the LORD’s direction. In this he was obedient to the LORD.

    Neither of you knows the details of Brad’s situation nor do you have a wiretap on his direction and conviction from the Lord. TUAD, read Brad’s post more carefully. What you quoted is what “certain folks” think about him staying (for now) in his Episcopal congregation, not “what God is impressing upon (him) to do”.

    Brad’s post sounds to me like the voice of one who trusts in the Lord with all his heart, and leans not to his own understanding, which should see him through just fine with no lectures from anyone.

  5. 5 David Loving January 18, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    +1, Brad and Milton


Leave a Reply

