Are My Readers Truly Christian Or Full of Bologna

Go to the post below and PLEASE before noon Thursday pledge ten minutes of your time to pray for this Kairos Winn #29. Heck, prove that your faith means something more than complaining about liberals in the Episcopal Church and say, sure, Brad, I’ll pray ten minutes for a prison ministry whose teams compromise Christians from every denomination who do not buy into the liberal agenda but are dutifully following Christ in visiting those in prison.

You see, folks, I post a piece about the PB trying to block the Anglican covenant, I get ten comments. I ask for prayer support for prison ministry, I get two (three since I started writing this piece). Houston, we have a problem. All I am asking for is the time in takes to read a piece on this blog and comment on it to pray for Kairos #29 at Winn Correctional. Priorities, people.

If this is what it takes, realize that Gene Robinson killed my prison ministry resolution at GC2006 in committee, even though the budget committee allocated money for it. Realize that Kairos is not about a bunch of liberal wackadoos standing outside of a prison protesting the criminal justice system. It is people who cooperate with that system in order to go inside the prison walls to bring residents of correctional institutions to Christ so that they have something (ie. someone, ie. HIM) to live for and they might not offend in the future precisely because of Jesus Christ. I’m not asking for money, I’m not asking for you to take a political position, I’m asking for ten minutes of prayer. Ten minutes. Ten minutes on a Friday. During your lunch hour, more than likely. This isn’t like the times I’ve asked my readers to pray at 2 a.m. or some crazy time like that. It’s Friday…during the day. You are awake. I’m asking you take a whole ten minutes and pray for Kairos Winn #29, that the residents of Winn Correctional will come to know Jesus as their Lord and Savior.

You tellin’ me you can’t do that? If you can’t, well, I don’t know what to tell you, other than you will have to stand before the judgment seat of God, and Jesus will ask when He was in prison where were you. See Matthew 25.

I get emails from folks all the time stressing about going into this meeting or convention or whatever with revisionist liberals or what have you asking for prayer and people respond saying oh, how tough that has to be engaging in such a battle of rhetoric, and my prayers are with you. I go into a prison and shake the gates of hell to rescue folks from the enemy’s camp, realizing that I’m the son of the Federal Judge that sits over their habeas corpus petitions and the husband of a prison classification officer who may have sent one of the candidates back to Winn Correctional from her minimum security prison and therefore have a big giant target on my back, and y’all seem to care less. You know what? I have a problem with that. And I’m hoping I don’t get shanked this weekend. Hey, maybe if you can’t pray for the prisoners because of whatever moral objections you might have about that, how about praying for ten minutes that Brad doesn’t get shanked this weekend. How about it? Just pray “Lord, Brad is an idiot, but I pray for him anyway,” for a whole ten minutes.

Just post a comment here for a ten minute block.

Yes, some folks will be offended by this rant. Tough. Most of my readers tell me to go to various meetings and take stand for the Christian faith in the Episcopal Church, or start my own non-TEC Anglican Church here in Central Louisiana, or attempt to take on other gargantuan tasks in the name of the faith once delivered. However, I ask for ten minutes of prayer and I get two comments and one email saying they will take a prayer time. Sorry for feeling the way I do. But, try to see things from my perspective, for ten minutes, tell me you are doing it, and that will count as your prayer time and you will be on a prayer chain that prays for every minute of a Kairos weekend.

5 Responses to “Are My Readers Truly Christian Or Full of Bologna”


  1. 1 Alice C. Linsley October 23, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Yes. We do have a problem. We are in the habit of complaining to each other and expounding on the sins of TEC. We need to re-learn how to pray.

    Lord, I am unworthy to ask anything of you, but I’m asking for a special blessing on the Kairos #29 at Winn Correctional. Please bless you child and servant Brad and the whole team. Give me a heart that yearns to be close to you in prayer. I love you, Lord Jesus, and thank you for Brad and for those prisioners who have already turned to you in faith.

  2. 2 Douglas LeBlanc October 23, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I’ll gladly take the block from noon to 12:10 p.m. (Central Daylight Time) on Friday.

    Brad, may you feel the tangible presence of the Lord throughout this Kairos weekend. Of all the people in the world who truly do not believe that God has any reason to love them, prisoners must rank near the top.

    You will be doing holy work, Brad. Thank you for the privilege of inviting your readers to be part of it by praying for you and your team.

  3. 3 Jeff in VA October 23, 2008 at 11:18 am

    IMHO, actual exhortation is all too rare in American Christianity today. Thanks for the calling-out, Brad. We all need it.

  4. 4 John Delmore October 23, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Well, Brad, I can’t make a 10 minute block within your time-frame, but I’ll surely send one up during the ‘in-service’, and will further hold you, your colleagues and those you serve in prayerful mindfulness throughout. God Bles

    And yes…this is much more important than squabbling about who’s sleeping with whom…

  5. 5 Lakeland Two October 31, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Brad,

    I didn’t see this before. I offer my apologies. Will keep a closer eye.

    You’re right, but you know that. What you are doing bears good fruit. May the Lord continue to bless your ministry and that of Kairos.

    We will be praying that the work done will be protected and built upon.


Leave a Reply

