Punch drunk law

With the economy tanking (and yes, it is tanking) I’m busier than ever. That is the problem with being a commercial litigator and a business bankruptcy guy. I hate to say it, but in twelve years of practice, I’ve never seen banks call PERFORMING loans. I emphasize performing, meaning that all payments have been made on a timely basis.

What I also didn’t realize is that economic desperation actually causes more litigation. Where folks once would have put up some money to make a problem go away, they have no money to put up and therefore pay the lawyers instead.

To top it all off, I think everyone is just an emotional wreck with everything going on nowadays. My family, people I work with, people at church, you name it.

I don’t think the election is helping much either.

I feel like Al Pacino did in the move “And Justice For All.” Saw this clip tonight as part of an Inn of Court seminar tonight.

It is tough trying to be a finder of the truth that gets so obscured.

2 Responses to “Punch drunk law”


  1. 1 John in the Middle October 22, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Don’t blame me, I voted for Kerry! 🙂

  2. 2 FellowBarMember October 24, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    This movie came out in December 1979 and was an invigorating part of my decision to enter law school in 1980 (mostly on the side of the little man). Thanks for reminding me.


Leave a Reply

