Archive for August 17th, 2008

Likely Prospects For The Anglican Communion: Continued Sluff And Obfuscation

Every once in a while I get a little hope that clarity might come around in the Anglican Communion regarding the Episcopal Church and its actions. But, that has been dashed again. Seems the game is now kicked down the road to this Spring regarding the Anglican Consultative Council and a Primates Meeting regarding the Anglican Covenant, and this will put a draft covenant before GC2009. The covenant will be treated like a salad bar where TEC will take parts of the covenant and reject other parts, yet they will avoid outright rejection of the same and the ABC and the rest of the Communion will equivocate over TEC’s legislation. TEC will pretty much go on doing what they want to do, and the border crossings will not cease. The schism of the Anglican Communion will take a generation to sort out.

Many folks I talk to still want to stay in the Episcopal Church, to call the liberals to account, stand up for truth, what have you. During the Kairos board meeting, I think Jesus told me the same thing. Andrew Carey even said the same thing to me at the end of GC2006. Another friend of mine who had long advocated leaving the Episcopal Church told me I needed to go to GC2009. Okay, Lord, I get it.

But, the truth of the matter is, I don’t want to.

I’m tired of arguing with the likes of the Anglican Bishop in the Great Divorce. They don’t get it, they don’t want to get it, and don’t even see there is a problem. So, why be a part of this mess, this continued sluff and obfuscation?

Jonah had to go to Ninevah. I guess I have to go to Anaheim. But, Lord, why?

I wish I could talk to the spirit who had the dialogue with the Anglican bishop in the Great Divorce. Or to Jonah post-Nineveh.

The only answer I come up with is that no institution of man is immune to heresy, apostasy, and unfaithfulness. In the Lord Jesus, restoration and reconciliation is always a possibility. I have to live like I really believe that.