Archive for August 9th, 2008

Having A Good Time At The Kairos Prison Ministry International Summer Conference

I got a wonderful break yesterday from our work on the structure of the ministry via a wonderful memorial service with an excellent preacher.  She said that in Kairos we believe every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.  Powerful stuff.

It has been tough, however, to be involved in politics of something you love, whether it is Anglicanism or Kairos Prison Ministry.  I continue to struggle with it.  But, two things stand out in my mind.  The first is a word of prophecy that I would someday understand not only the what (the substance of the problem) but the why – why it happens, and why I have to be a part of it.

On Thursday morning we did a meditation of conversing with Jesus in the form of a guided meditation, an exercise which I have done in Kairos team formation, but, for some reason, and I and many others had a unique experience this particular time.  When I asked Jesus what I could do for him, what He said to me was to keep reminding people of Him and keep serving.  What His statements to me lacked in specificity they made up for in power and truth.

Today I’ll be taking a tour of the city of San Francisco, and this is my first time on the West coast.  Ought to be pretty neat.

Tomorrow I fly back to Alexandria.  I’ll try to write more thoughts from the airport.