Arren Calvin Buchanan – RIP

A.C. was a past senior warden of my parish, and served on the Diocesan Council (nee Executive Committee) and was the Godfather to my daughter, Caroline.

He passed away at around 6 p.m. yesterday after a fight with cancer and a stroke.

He was an Army Protestant until he came to St. James, and because a strong Christian and leader in the parish and the Diocese. He was also CEO of Rapides Regional Medical Center in Alexandria and did a tremendous job in his ministry of providing healing to residents of Central Louisiana.

I will miss him, and regret that I haven’t spent as much time with him in the past few years as we did previously.

Funeral arrangements are as follows:

Friday, August 8 – Visitation at St. James Episcopal Church from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 9 – Funeral service at 2 p.m. at St. James, and visitation from 1 to 2 p.m. prior to service.

13Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep, or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope. 14We believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him. 15According to the Lord’s own word, we tell you that we who are still alive, who are left till the coming of the Lord, will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep. 16For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. 17After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever.

1 Thessalonians 4: 13-17

3 Responses to “Arren Calvin Buchanan – RIP”


  1. 1 Judith L August 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Dear Brad,

    Please accept my sincere condolences on the loss of your friend. How wonderful to be assured that you will meet him again.

  2. 2 Alice C. Linsley August 7, 2008 at 2:44 am

    May God grant Arren a place in His eternal kingdom with all the saints in light. Amen.

  3. 3 Kathy Vaughn August 10, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Hey Brad,

    I have watched you grow into the finest man. I babysat you when you were 8. I just found you about AC. I moved away from Alexandria about a year and a half ago, so was not aware that he was ill. What a great man, huh? I loved him and Lisa dearly. I know St. James will miss as well. My son Wesley remembers him as his Sunday School teacher with Judge Harry. Describes him as a “cool dude.”

    When you see Lisa give her our love and hugs. My father died from leukemia. I understand what she’s going through. She needs people to make her laugh. I know you can be one of those people.

    Give my love to Carrie and the girls. See you next time I’m at St James. No matter where I am, I still consider St James home.

    Kathy Vaughn


Leave a Reply

