Sarah Hey’s Travelling Music

My life goes on in endless song
Above earths lamentations,
I hear the real, though far-off hymn
That hails a new creation.

Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear its music ringing,
It sounds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing?

While though the tempest loudly roars,
I hear the truth, it liveth.
And though the darkness round me close,
Songs in the night it giveth.

No storm can shake my inmost calm,
While to that rock Im clinging.
Since love is lord of heaven and earth
How can I keep from singing?

When tyrants tremble in their fear
And hear their death knell ringing,
When friends rejoice both far and near
How can I keep from singing?

In prison cell and dungeon vile
Our thoughts to them are winging,
When friends by shame are undefiled
How can I keep from singing?

1 Response to “Sarah Hey’s Travelling Music”


  1. 1 Richard Naff August 7, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I once had someone I was evangelizing make a similar comment to me. She said, as best I can recall, all churches have one appeal and that’s to provide the hocus-pocus missing from the Me-And-My-Bible approach.

    I didn’t spend a lot of time delving into that but in order to understand her view I asked a couple of questions. From her perspective, which seemed to be Jungian with a twist of Anna Freud, the human psyche needs some sort of magical incantations or gesticulations in order for the “magic of God” to work. She cited (with some derision) Baptism and the Eucharist. It was not enough to merely accept God’s Word and lessons, not enough to believe in the Christ. You had to cast some sort of magic spells and engage in physical movements to make it work. Hocus-pocus.

    She explained a few points in several faiths that had some parallels but I didn’t see a need to go further into those for this one point she was making. To her, and I understood her position to be one of “I’m wise to it and better than that” arrogance, there was no need for any organized religion, let alone bulidings where people meet to experience these purely psychological needs.

    Needless to say, I was unsuccessful in getting her to move a little away from “I’m wise to all the deceptions” to something more along the lines of “Perhaps I shouldn’t build impenetrable walls around me.” She claimed to be Christian but she held the post-Christian idea that Jesus was merely a man with a special insight to God. She didn’t believe there was a sacrifice involved in the crucifixion nor was there a physical resurrection.

    When I asked how she came to those beliefs, she said it was in her Bible. I asked which one and she said the NIV. Well, I just happened to have a copy in my car so I took a moment to fetch it then showed her the passages refuting her claims. Her response was that those passages didn’t say what I thought they said but that I had learned my understanding in a church along with my eucharistic beliefs. Quad est demonstrandum, according to her.

    She walked away and I’ve never seen her since. But I consider the encounter to be helpful because I realized there is a mindset out there where a sort of academic arrogance flourishes to the point that some people simply will not ‘condescend’ to step into a church because they think they’re above it all. Church is for weak, immature or intellectually dull people who can’t read the Bible and figure it out for themselves.

    Perhaps this is close to what your Michael meant when he mentioned ‘hunger?’


Leave a Reply

