Archive for August 4th, 2008

A Stunning Comment On An Old Thread I Linked Yesterday

From Michael, whoever he is:

The internet has finally showed what organized religion is all about — making money and keeping a lot of unemployable people afloat as clergy. As for young people…they are not interested in spending Sunday singing hymns, watching repetitive rituals and believing in some guy name Jesus is the son of God. I was raised an Episcopalian, boarding schools etc., and NOT ONE OF MY RELATIVES go including me. Everyone I know that are cradle Episcopalians are atheists or agnostics. They might get buried or married in the church but its a more social thing than anything to do with some God reinterpreted by the British to keep the aristocracy going. The Episcopal Church has become sort of a joke and refuge for women who want a second career and a lot of power. Aesthetically it is from hunger.

Well, I am a cradle Episcopalian and still Christian. However, as I go along, I realize as much as the Episcopal Church may have done to kindle my faith, I think the thing that has most helped to keep me going in the faith in Kairos Prison Ministry, and not so much the church. Reading this just struck me. What do you all think? I am not entirely sure what Michael means when he says “Aesthetically, it is from hunger.” I am puzzled by this observation and not sure what it means, but I am intrigued by what I am sure Michael thought was a simple remark. BLD

Sarah Hey’s Travelling Music

My life goes on in endless song
Above earths lamentations,
I hear the real, though far-off hymn
That hails a new creation.

Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear its music ringing,
It sounds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing?

While though the tempest loudly roars,
I hear the truth, it liveth.
And though the darkness round me close,
Songs in the night it giveth.

No storm can shake my inmost calm,
While to that rock Im clinging.
Since love is lord of heaven and earth
How can I keep from singing?

When tyrants tremble in their fear
And hear their death knell ringing,
When friends rejoice both far and near
How can I keep from singing?

In prison cell and dungeon vile
Our thoughts to them are winging,
When friends by shame are undefiled
How can I keep from singing?

It Cost…

$8,000 per bishop for each one to stay in a dorm room, eat in a cafeteria, and sweat their butts off in tent during the day for the Lambeth Conference.  That does not include the plane ticket, the cab from Heathrow, nothing.