Calling All Prayer Warriors

Kairos Winn #28 is coming up this weekend. This will be a powerful weekend, particularly because we have the largest team on record for this weekend and we will host 42 residents rather than the usual 30.

One of the things we do is have a prayer chain that covers the entire weekend in prayer. Every minute is prayed for by someone who volunteers for a ten minute block of prayer. This is represented to the residents in the form of paper links representing each minute, with the name and town of the person praying.

I have drawn the 3:00 a.m. to 4:20 a.m. shift on Sunday morning. I am hoping some brave souls and or folks who read this blog from other parts of the world might volunteer, as the times I have are CDT.

Please leave a comment on this blog if you can pray during the above cited time. Thanks in advance for your support!

13 Responses to “Calling All Prayer Warriors”


  1. 1 Joe Johnson April 23, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Brad,
    I will take the 0500-0510 slot on Sunday morning.
    Listen listen love love
    Joe Johnson
    Walls Unit
    Huntsville, Texas

  2. 2 Timothy Fountain April 23, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Aww, man, how (why?) did you draw the “stand to” hours? (Back in my Army days, “stand to” was the time around 0400, a statistically likely time for an enemy attack and therefore a time to be awake and ready.)

    So, OK, I will be prayin’ 0410 – 0420 CDT (since I exist in that time zone anyway). Will also post your request on Northern Plains Anglicans, and you might end up with support from places like Iowa, North Dakota, Minnesota and Canada.

    Will also pray for Kairos Winn #28 at my mid-week Communion service on Wednesday, 2/23 at 10 a.m. CDT.

    Timothy Fountain
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota

  3. 3 Alice C. Linsley April 23, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I will pray throughout the weekend. May God bless this effort with a very immediate sense of His Presence.

  4. 4 descant April 23, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Tim:

    You know me well enough by enough by now. You ask the question of why did Brad draw the stand to hours. Gee, I don’t know. Don’t I always seem to draw those – hours, positions, you name it?

    I once prayed for God to do with my life what He would. He hasn’t let me renig on that yet.

  5. 5 Susan April 23, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I’ll take 4:00 to 4:10(CDT)slot.

    Susan Miller
    Bonita, CA

  6. 6 Matthew April 23, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    I will be praying for y’all 4:20 to 4:30 CDT (5:20 to 5:30) EDT Sunday morning.

    Matthew Asnip
    Atlanta, GA

  7. 7 JD April 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    How does one find the ’empty’ slots?

    Otherwise, I’ll just pick ten, plus include Winn #28 in regular prayers.

  8. 8 Phil Snyder April 23, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Brad,

    I’ll be praying for you during the weekend. I just returned from Coffield #25 in Texas and our instructional reunion is this weekend.

    I will pray from 3:00 am to 3:30 am on Sunday.

    May God bless you, the team, the residents and stewards (if there are such) as well as the Warden and Correctional Officers at the Wynn unit.

    YBIC,
    Phil Snyder

  9. 9 Matthew April 23, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Change mine to 3:30 to 4:00 am. Forgot to do the time zone change when I posted (I live in the EDT zone).

  10. 10 Bob Maxwell+ April 24, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I will be in prayer all weekend , esp 5-7 MT.

    Phil, my prayers were with you last weekend as I drove to Denton, and gave thanks at Evensong at Holy Communion.

  11. 11 Stu Howe April 24, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Brad,

    I keep you in my prayers this weekend.

  12. 12 Alice C. Linsley April 26, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Lord, even now, in this very minute, work out your salvation among the prisoners. We praise you and we bless you!

  13. 13 Timothy Fountain April 27, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    The dog and I were up in the wee hours, when all is still – so she got a good walk and I got to pray as asked. Looking forward to your news from the weekend!


Leave a Reply

