More to the HOBD Listserv On Litigation

Responding to two different responses to my previous email:

First off, don’t talk to me like someone who has left or is presently leaving the Episcopal Church and taking property with me. I haven’t and have no current plans to do so. I am trying to write and talk about something for the good of the church. I am a Deputy for GC2009, and am a member of the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society. I believe the non-profit corporation which is an arm of our church and of which we are both members is wasting fiscal resources on litigation which it ought to settle. Period. That’s it. I’ve detailed why I think this in a previous email. I’ve further detailed why this is detrimental to the life of the church.

I realize you disagree with me, and you think this litigation stuff is wonderful for a bunch of church buildings we can’t use. Why? Your email is response to me illustrates why – revenge against the people who disagree with you in the church for what they have done in voicing their disagreement with the church and their attempts to take church property with them. You think this is a proper motivation for the litigation. I don’t.

***

I find it hysterical that you would plop Pauline polity down as an excuse yet Romans 1 can be ignored by our church doctrinally. It is even more hysterical that we constantly drone about how we are different than other Anglican churches because we are governed by General Convention, including laity, clergy and bishops and that General Convention is the only body that can truly bind the church, yet we aren’t allowed to know where the money is going. Could you possibly be more inconsistent?

Moreover, as a member of the DFMS according to our own canons, I have a right under New York Law to inspect the records. You can say that it is not very Pauline to request the records, but I would use the same arguments you would use against the application of Romans 1 to the current presenting issue – oh, that’s just culture bound, and today we have a new understanding of the governance of religious non-profit corporations that Paul just wouldn’t have understood, since they didn’t have religious non-profit corporations back then.

Since, obviously, the biblical rationale for Christians not taking other Christians to court no longer applies, I hope the Bishops file a lawsuit against DFMS and get the records they don’t want to turn over.

Moreover, the amount of money being spent on litigation is not information that will benefit those leaving the church with property in there particular lawsuits. But, it very well might get a majority of members in the church to force 815 to settle these cases. And oh, we don’t want that to happen.

2 Responses to “More to the HOBD Listserv On Litigation”


  1. 1 Rick Arllen March 2, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.” I wonder what his take on this delightful display of nuanced inconsistency might be? I wouldn’t be surprised if he might respond, “You have to be kidding me! There is no intellectual foundation here, just an unorganized mass of feelings that know themselves to be ‘right’ in whatever state they currently perceive themselves to be.”

    And we allow these people to vote AND breed. Wow.

  2. 2 R. Scott Purdy March 3, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Some have voluntarily removed themselves from the gene pool – yet they still vote.


Leave a Reply

