A Thought From The Sermon I Heard Today At Church

Fr. Fred preached an excellent sermon today. I was particularly taken aback at an analogy between John the Baptist’s message and what a mother eagle does with her children. These nests get really big and heavy, by the way, weighing sometimes in the tons. When it is time for the chicks to leave the nest, the mother takes apart, well, utterly destroys the nest as the chicks look on, wondering, I’m sure, “Mom, what are you doing?”

Made me think that we are in one of those times in the church of losing the comfort the nest so we will be forced to live up to our potential and soar. As has been often said by Kendall Harmon, we are a church under a judgment, and John the Baptist’s words could not be more timely than today – repent for the Kingdom of God has come near.

Deuteronomy 32:11: “…like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hovers over its young…”

5 Responses to “A Thought From The Sermon I Heard Today At Church”


  1. 2 anglicanprayer December 11, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    As Butthead said to Beavis in one episode, “What??? Huh huh huh huh…you paid attention… huh huh.”

    “losing the comfort the nest so we will be forced to live up to our potential and soar” Beautiful and I think you are right. Painful, but it is what God is doing with those who care.

  2. 3 anglicanprayer December 11, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Hmmmmm…I’m coming up “anglicanprayer” on this site… This is Tim Fountain, not wanting to stain innocent folks with my lame comments. Will try and correct in future.

  3. 4 philmoberg December 11, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Amen from this far corner, as well, Brad. I have been convicted by your persistent witness of waiting on the Lord. Test those wings, and see how your strength has been renewed. Our Lord is faithful.

  4. 5 Ron Baird+ December 11, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Thanks for all you do Brad.

    Could you email me? I have another matter I need to see if you could help me with.

    Ron Baird+


Leave a Reply

