What happens when believers die?

We have a great thread going on at StandFirm regarding this very topic.

I take the position that when we die we rest in Christ, rather than the church theory (lie in my opinion) that we go straight to heaven, which disregards a fair amount of scripture (specifically the entire book of the Revelation of John, Paul’s letter to the Thessalonians, and numerous other passages on this topic.)

But, what was neat was that it got started with a great song.

Meet Me in the Middle of the Air
Paul Kelly

I am your true shepherd
I will lead you there
Beside still waters
Come and meet me in the middle of the air
I will meet you in the middle of the air

I will lay you down
In pastures green and fair
Every soul shall be restored
I will meet them in the middle of the air
Come and meet me in the middle of the air

Through the lonesome valley
My rod and staff you’ll bear
Fear not death’s dark shadow
I will meet you in the middle of the air
Come and meet me in the middle of the air

With oil I shall anoint you
A table shall I prepare
Your cup will runneth over
Come and meet me in the middle of the air
I will meet you in the middle of the air

In my house you’ll dwell forever
You shall not want for care
Surely goodness and mercy will follow you
Come and meet me in the middle of the air
I will meet you in the middle of the air
Come and meet me in the middle of the air

2 Responses to “What happens when believers die?”


  1. 1 David Ould November 13, 2007 at 5:27 am

    great to have the chat with you Brad. Look forward to more tomorrow.

  2. 2 mrsfalstaff November 14, 2007 at 2:31 am

    Wellllll…. it doesn’t really matter, does it? I think the reason scripture seems to be confusing on the issue is because God is outside of time, and we, as time bound creatures, can’t wrap our brains around anything that isn’t time bound.


Leave a Reply

