Just Can’t Think About Anglican Issues With the LSU-Bama Game Coming This Saturday

I was reading on the HOBD listserv digest last night that one of the most illustrious leaders of the Episcopal left did not know how many innings there were in football.

UGH was all I could think to say. He has to be joking. But, then I thought, maybe not. Maybe he’ll be cheering Rutgers on this weekend saying “repel them, repel them, make them relinquish the ball!” But I bet he won’t even watch the game. He was at Bama during the Bear Bryant years. Missed some great years of college football.

I really prefer college football, particularly SEC football, to pro football or just about any other sport. I event love watching movies about it – Rudy, Knute Rockney, all those movies about Notre Dame. I wish they would make a movie about an SEC team. In any event, what I really like watching is players who achieve great things in college ball while at the same time there is no way these guys are going pro. When they step onto that field, they do so in humility, knowing this is their 15 minutes of fame. They pour their heart and soul into the sport while at the same time getting a college education. A Saturday night, watching this kind of football, some good food and beverages – well it just doesn’t get any better than this. I went to the meat market this week and bought some prime cuts of Ribeye. I can’t wait until Saturday night.

This Saturday night’s game will probably be one for the history books, whichever way it goes. Saban, now of Alabama but coached LSU to its last national championship, has done what he always does best -rebuilding a football program into a top team. LSU has something to prove – that it wasn’t Saban, but the LSU football team that is championship quality. The SEC West championship is on the line. Both teams are in the hunt for the overall SEC championship. LSU is in the hunt for a national championship.

The game is at Bama. While it isn’t Death Valley, Baton Rouge, LA, Bama fans can make some noise. I’ve been there and seen it.

Both teams with a penchant for pulling out last minute wins. It will be a nail biter.

Perriloux is out for disciplinary reasons. So we have Matt Flynn probably on his own at QB. Flynn is exactly one of those type of players I was describing above.

Jacob Hester is also one of those players, with a heart of a lion as he piles through to push the football.

5 Responses to “Just Can’t Think About Anglican Issues With the LSU-Bama Game Coming This Saturday”


  1. 1 WannabeAnglican November 2, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I think Pro Football is much better. But I do hope LSU smashes ‘Bama.

  2. 2 Terry Chapman November 2, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Roll Tide!

  3. 3 Carol Ridout November 2, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Nice Post! Love college football. Pro football . . . it’s okay. Love SEC football. But mostly
    I LOVE BAMA football. Roll Tide!!!

    From a Tuscaloosan transplanted to Texas ; My parents will be there. Wish I was (sigh).

  4. 4 More Martha than Mary November 3, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    I’m an Auburn girl, myself, and couldn’t believe your crazy TD pass on the last play of the game against MY tigers… 😦
    You can be sure, I’ll be rooting for LSU this afternoon, though! Geaux Tigers! Beat Bama!!!

  5. 5 Carol Ridout November 4, 2007 at 3:49 am

    Wow! Great and exciting game. Wish Bama had won. But big Congrats to the Tigers!


Leave a Reply

