Update: Why Would A Conservative Be Unhappy In Western Louisiana After The Reconciliation Meetings

Well, a few folks have either emailed or made comments asking this question, so, I’ll tell you. Many conservatives were (and still are) hoping that the Diocese will leave TEC right now, if not sooner. Taking a tack of patience, submission to all of the Windsor Report requirements, in not trying to exacerbate the tensions in the Anglican Communion by requesting alternative primatial oversight or proposing resolutions for this next Diocesan Convention to remove the accession clause from our Diocesan Constitution – are all things conservatives do not want to have to do.

However, if we can stay the course as a Diocese together, it will be worth it. Based on my knowledge of events in the Anglican world, I am betting that a time will come when ECUSA gets kicked out of the Anglican Communion. I am hoping if it comes to that, we, as a Diocese, can figure out a way forward together. In the meantime, it is important to work at unity and reconciliation within the Diocese so we can remain united.

2 Responses to “Update: Why Would A Conservative Be Unhappy In Western Louisiana After The Reconciliation Meetings”


  1. 1 Timothy August 23, 2007 at 8:01 am

    “Based on my knowledge of events in the Anglican world, I am betting that a time will come when ECUSA gets kicked out of the Anglican Communion.”

    I would be interested in your calculus. I don’t see the votes among
    the primates, nor the will of the ABC, to kick TEC out.

    What is far more likely to me is the seperation of most of the Global South to form something new. Dioceses that stake their future on remaining part of the Canterbury based AC will thus stay where they are.

  2. 2 Jeffersonian August 24, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    I’m with Timothy. I think ++Rowan will let 8-10 huge GS provinces, representing possibly 50% of the Communion, walk rather than lose a couple of small but wealthy provinces. I predit that Lambeth, Windsor, Dromantine, Dar es Salaam…all were but handfuls of sand thrown into the eyes of the orthodox, delaying tactics to wait us out.

    I hope I’m wrong, but I don’t think I am.


Leave a Reply

